Ron Mayhew's Blog

"It's the image"
Havana Malacon

255 Comments

  1. mtoothacker

    I love the old cars. Some of those photos could have been right out of the 50’s. what was it like then before the revolution? How old we’re you during your first visit?

    Reply
  2. uditach

    Hi I am from Kolkata, India and I must say that quite a few photographs of the Streets of Havana looked very much like those in Kolkata. Wonderful. 🙂

    Reply
  3. redmudstain

    Fascinated with the US classic car presence outside of the US! Same here in Chiang Mai with the younger gen, though probably not as ubiquitous as in Havana. Interesting to see the contrast with the old and young, luxurious and modest.

    Reply
  4. Mike Crape

    Excellent post! Your images and writing provides an incredible picture of a place that you note as ‘land of contrasts’. Thanks for sharing your experience in such a great way.

    Reply
  5. yelmy

    I really really really liked this post. The photos are beyond fantastic and I have to say, I fell in love with the classic car models. This post has confirmed that I need to put Cuba on my travelling list so that, at the very least, I can indulge myself in looking at these beautiful cars stroll in those tiny streets. Though some people might see this as a bad thing, I actually think it’s good that Cuba doesn’t have any “Western influence” as you so put it. Because, if you’re going to a place like Cuba, you don’t want to visit a Starbucks Coffee Shop, or a KFC branch, you want to see Cuba in all its glorious simplicity; the beaches, the nightclubs, the rumba, the salsa that you just can’t help moving to in the middle of the street. Of course Cuba needs a lot of economic reforms to give its own people “more opportunities” as you said. But you just portrayed it as such a magical place. Thank you so much for sharing this experience, it helped me see a side of Cuba I didn’t know was there.

    Reply
    • fotograffer

      Wow Yelmy, thank you for your kind and thoughtful comment. A you mention, Cuba certainly has its woes but the people we met were so warm and friendly. Things seem to be slowly improving but who knows what the future holds.

      Reply
      • yelmy

        I can totally relate to the way you describe the Cubans, because that’s how most Egyptians are (I’m Egyptian, hi! :D). I don’t want to sound stereotypical but, I think it goes to say that for most what people scientifically describe as “developing countries” you seem to find this sort of simplistic goodness in their people, and I’m not saying that this quality strictly belongs to Cubans, Egyptians, or developing nations, but it’s something that I’ve noticed in most of the “developing countries” I’ve been fortunate enough to visit.
        I look forward to read more of your travels. Have a nice day!

        Reply
  6. Carole

    Much appreciated. Last year a photographer posted photos of his trip to North Korea. You never get a glimpse into North Korea so I was enamored. Now I have had the same experience with the beautiful, broad spectrum of photos here in Cuba. You captured it well and again, I thank you for sharing them.

    Reply
  7. Don

    Reminds me of Puerto Rico and Panama (Canal Zone) about 30 years ago. I grew up in Puerto Rico in my elementary school years and graduated from Canal Zone College in 1968. I love the Latin beat. Music you just can’t turn off Ole, ole! Great photos. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  8. QwenL

    This blog made Havana a lovely place to visit to. In your photos, the people and the place are so inviting and friendly and it feels like I’m at the actual place and strolling over the streets of Havana.

    Reply
  9. Allison Andersen

    Stunning. I have a possible opportunity to go to Cuba next spring and I’m very excited about it. Your photos are beautiful and really capture so much diversity in a place that is a mystery to most of us. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

