Ron Mayhew's Blog

"It's the image"
Kumbh Mela 2013

21 Comments

  1. Sweet Sandy

    Ron,

    Enjoyed the photo very much. I’d like to see 130 million of our people walk, barefooted , carrying their water to drink, to the sacred River for a Spiritual Dip!

    Reply
  2. Phil Wood

    Ron, I’ve recently discovered your blog. What an evocative image. I’m reminded of phrase I heard, setting up my ‘Soul of India’ blog: ‘a journey to the crossroads’. I was told it came from the Sanskrit for meditation.

    Reply
    • fotograffer

      All of India is amazingly colorful but in this case I thought it would distract from the solemn, serene procession. And I guess I am going through a B&W phase. 🙂

      Reply
  3. alienheartbeat

    combining the magic and the human. standing still to take pictures during pilgrimages is to some extent standing in harm’s way – crowds in India have a way of becoming unpredictable quickly and when they do you have less than 2 minutes to find a way out. take care.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

