Ron Mayhew's Blog

"It's the image"
Cattelya Orchid Bloom

23 Comments

  1. George Weaver

    Ah, you are right. Maybe more beautiful. I think so too. As we watch and wait, we see something we never noticed. How the drying blossom takes on a kind of subtle concentration of color. This orchid is beautiful. You have presented the end of her life well. My last post considered the end of life of a box of tulips in the same way. I love the light here.

    Reply
  2. dalo2013

    Agree, there is something striking and satisfying which makes the idea of fading & withering away dismally with age very attractive (no offense, Mr. Joyce!). Beautifully captured shot, great texture. Did you backlight the orchid?

    Reply
  3. Playamart - Zeebra Designs

    what a stunning image! how nice that you could squeeze a bit more pleasure out of your beloved orchid! this post could prompt many parables! we might be past our bloom, but there’s still beauty if one will look for it! z

    Reply
  4. Lowell Peabody

    Always nice discovering something new from you something you almost take for granted. Very nice!

    Reply
  5. Barbara Backer-Gray

    I’m Dutch, and when I lived in Holland, I used to buy flowers regularly. I enjoyed their freshness, but then I would leave them to die however they wanted, starting with petals falling off and lying around the vase, all the way to being really most sincerely dead and crispy. My friends thought I was crazy, but I felt that the flowers were beautiful in every stage. I’m glad to see that I’m not the only one!

    Reply
    • fotograffer

      It is mostly about the lighting: back lighting to the right side some the translucency of the bloom would show plus some light was reflected back to the bloom. I’ll explain in detail in another post in a few days. Thanks for your comment.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

