Ron Mayhew's Blog

"It's the image"
Self -portrait

10 Comments

  1. Angeline M

    Hi Ron,
    I love the Cartier Bresson quote; also your description of your self portrait. Forgive me if I’m being dense, but did you mean to include a photo, or is the gist that your description is your sketchbook?

    Reply
  2. ilargia64

    Hi Ron!
    Sometimes art is prisoner of other interests like fashion, economics… Of course, I also believe that other times is just a question of being at the right place at the right moment!
    So…Being considered an artist can be a question of luck or of snobbery…What can we do? To persist in our passion with the whole heart!

    Reply
  3. sustainabilitea

    Ron, thanks for including the quote. I’d not read it before. And I like your self-portrait. As for what’s “art” or “good” photography, you have only to look at some of what’s out there to realize that beauty is in the eye of the beholder. 🙂 We went to a local art walk last weekend and there was much there I wouldn’t take if it were given to me. But others like and buy it. It’s the same with modern art, much of which I don’t get, don’t care for and don’t see as art. Be true to yourself. From what I can see, you have a photographer’s eye and I know from what you just said that you have the heart to go with it.

    janet

    Reply

Leave a Reply

